It’s My Day Off But I’m Gonna Cook Away

So it’s my off day and I’m spending most of it cooking. I always forget how much work and time goes into cooking. Part of I decided to spend some time cooking today was because I wanted to make some meals that would be easy for me to take to work so I don’t have to worry about cooking the day of. Also because I finally went grocery shopping on Monday and actually have food to cook with now.

I’ve been trying to get more avocado in my diet because it’s good for you. So far it’s been a struggle. I don’t like Avocado by itself, or as guacamole. I have been able to stand in salads recently, though so when I found this Grilled Chicken, Avocado & Bacon Salad I was excited to try it. I adapted this recipe from akitchencafe.com

IMG_0907

Grilled Chicken, Avocado & Bacon Salad

Ingredients:

  • 3 large chicken breasts

  • 3-4 Green onions

  • 1/2-3/4 package of Bacon

  • 2 Avocados cubed

  • 3-4 Tablespoons Greek Yogurt

  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Cook bacon on the stove and then set aside to cool. IMG_0900

  2. Season chicken however you wish. (I used a pepper/garlic mix, salt and onion powder) Grill chicken and then let it sit until it’s cool all the way through. IMG_0898

  3. Dice green onions and cube your avocados. Chop bacon.IMG_0899

  4. Add everything to a large bowl. Add the Greek yogurt and stir. You
    just want enough to coat everything. Season with salt and pepper as desired. IMG_0901

I personally had to make a few changes based on what I had and personal preference. I didn’t have enough chicken but I didn’t really have an issue with that, I stilled used the same proportions for everything else. I also realized that I didn’t pick up any plain Greek yogurt so I had to use vanilla. It gave the salad a kind of sweet flavor, which wasn’t terrible but I don’t think I would do it again. I was going to try and balance it out with some Dijon mustard but I only had Honey Mustard. I also don’t have a grill so I had to cook my chicken in a pan. I would definitely suggest going the grill route.

Overall it was a very good salad and something I will make again. Next time I think I will try it with some Dijon mustard because it just sounds good.

About darthkrispy

An Introverted soul with a love for the extraordinary and ordinary. I have big dreams of publishing my own book or maybe one day opening a bakery/restaurant. My life however is constantly changing and just when I think I've figured things out, I get thrown a curve ball. I love writing, which is why I started this blog. I also love to engage in conversations with people about the things I love. So be prepared for a wide assortment of crazy :)

Posted on June 4, 2014, in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Family Fandom

Sharing Our Love of Stories With the World

This Mortal Flesh

"So tear me open but beware...there's things inside without a care..." ~Metallica

MidiMike

Songwriter and Sound Engineer

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

fueled by vegetables

You say tomato, I say LET'S EAT!

On The Heath

where would-be writer works with words

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Sheila Renee Parker

Author. Paranormal. Romance. Fantasy. Follow Sheila on Twitter! @sheilarparker

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

bdhesse

A writing WordPress.com site

SENSITIVE NEW WORLD

Pay Attention

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

